and life continues…

I might be cheating by posting in a blog called “Haley in France” when I am very much in the United States right now, but after last semester, there will always be a part of me in France so I figured I could write in it anytime I want to. Then again it is my own blog, so I do what I want!

So, welcome to the new Haley in France, in the US. I’ve been back for about a month and a half now, and I think about that place every day. Michel has booked his plane ticket to come to Texas on May 7th and I couldn’t be more excited!!! It will be his first time in the US so I’m looking forward to playing tour guide in my own country. He’ll be here for a week, and in that time we’re planning on road tripping to the Grand Canyon and Las Vegas. He’ll even be here to see my college graduation.

But before May rolls around, I am anxiously awaiting the news of the job that I’ve applied to for next year. As I said in my last post, it’s an English Teaching Assistant position in a French school from October to April. It would be amazing if I get the job, and it would be even more amazing if I am placed in Lille (my first choice city). I’ll find out in early April if I’m accepted or not so I’m definitely keeping my fingers crossed.

I’ve even begun thinking about graduate schools. After this year off, I am very focused on going to get my masters and maybe even my doctorate. I’ve chosen my top choice school: New York University. I would get my masters in Teaching French as a Foreign Language, spending my first year on the NYU campus and my second year in Paris. That sounds like a pretty good deal to me.

Finally, I am very happy with how big French and France are a part of my life now. For my final semester, I’m taking French Literature, French Conversation, French Capstone (the final required class for French majors), and Linguistics. I love all my classes but there definitely is a lot of reading. I am also really happy that we have 8 exchange students from France at Baylor this semester, 6 of them being from Caen and whom I met and got to know a little bit last semester. It’s so nice to have people that I can still speak French with; it’s like having a little piece of France with me here. If I weren’t having all these opportunities to stay connected to France and French, I think that the transition of coming back would have been much harder.

Me and 4 of the 6 Caen students in Waco

I am so happy to be back, so happy to see Michel in May, so happy to (hopefully) be back in France this fall, and so happy to (hopefully) be working my way towards an even higher education in French. I guess I’m just a Happy Haley in general!

Leave a Reply

