two weeks

Two weeks and one day before my plane leaves, I feel surprisingly prepared.

About a month ago, I pulled my suitcase down from the highest shelf of my parents’ closet. I thought, could this be too early? No. Knowing my airline’s baggage policy (first max 50lb bag free, overweight fee of $200, second bag fee of $200), I have no choice but to take one suitcase and one carry-on. My beastly hard-case Delsey suitcase weighs 11lbs (it’s also purple), therefore I have a good 39lbs to pack with lots of layers for the cold weather of northern France. I’ve slowly been putting sweaters, leggings, and long-sleeved shirts into the suitcase – items that I’ll have no need for during September in Texas.

A gorgeous Texas sunset in front of my house that I’ll be sure to miss.

Although I had to wait a month before my school replied to my e-mail, once they did contact me, every reply was quickly sent. They even gave me the great news that they were offering me housing near the campus in a four-bedroom apartment with three other teaching assistants for around 100 euro/month. It’s furnished and in a new building that is centrally located and a 5 minute walk to the train station. After getting in touch with one of the assistants who lived there last year, I was able to see some pictures of the apartment and decided that this is by far the best deal I will stumble upon as far as housing goes in France. As of now, I’ll be living with the German and Italian assistants – it should be a great year! (Plus, all the money I’ll be saving can go to traveling funds!)

Now it feels like my biggest problem is figuring out what outfit I’ll wear on the plane. It has to be quite versatile, able to go from 95 degree weather to 60 degree weather… life is so hard.

3 thoughts on “two weeks

  1. Keith Eckstein September 6, 2011 / 11:49 AM

    Haley

    I’d be a bit worried about turning up over here with a Purple Suitcase (the french are rather fashion conscious and that sort of thing is kind of hard to live down!)

    However, whatever colour it is, you really should pack it full of your warmest clothes! I understand that, on the Belgian border, winter lasts for about 10 months of the year!

    All the best

    Keith

    P.S. Possibly a bit of an “in joke” but… watch out for mad American ex-assistant drivers in le Nord – they’re a dangerous breed! It’s the roundabouts you have to watch out for!

  2. Amber September 6, 2011 / 1:21 PM

    Hey Keith, quit gossiping about me behind my back! ;)

    Haley, it’ll definitely be colder than 60 in two weeks time.. it feels like winter lately with the intense storms we’ve been having. They are worse than anything I’ve ever experienced in my 3 yrs in the North. Make sure you come with some good quality boots!

  3. Mich Mich September 6, 2011 / 1:44 PM

    Ah ah, it’s summer here ! 20°C at the best, perfect !

    What ? Storm ? Nooo way, a little wind caressing the cheeks ! ;)

Leave a Reply

