back in franceland!

Who knew my trip back to France would be so full of adventure?!

My life in a nutshell… or one suitcase, backpack, and purse.

Wednesday afternoon, my family & I left for the airport only to get a flat tire on the way. Luckily we left 3 hours early, and my dad is a pit boss. We continued on the spare (at a torturing 50mph) until we reached DFW International Airport. Once I checked in, they weighed my bag and of course it was one pound overweight. I pulled out my 1.25 pound container of chili powder and transferred it to my carry on since the employee said it was okay to do that. Then, when I check into security, I’m pulled aside to have my carry on bag checked through on the special table because of my huge container of Texas spice. Luckily it wasn’t a problem after all and I headed towards my gate.

Me, Dad, Mom, & Grant at the airport

Upon arriving at the gate, I quickly found out that my only options to eat at were Burger King and Taco Bell (this was the most minimal of my problems, but it was still a let down). After that I was greeted by the screen with the flight info that said “DELAYED – 15 MINUTES.” Thanks United Airlines! So, now my already short connection at Chicago became even shorter. I gave myself plenty of mental pep talks on the way there, and was also encouraged by my seat buddy. He had traveled a lot and told me that I should’ve brought a smaller carry on so it wouldn’t weigh me down while I was running to my next flight. Too late for that!

So I ran, and ran, and ran (O’Hare is a big airport) and made it with 10 minutes to spare! The check-in employees were laughing at me and saying “Slow down girl, you have time! Were you worried?” Yes, I was. I was one of the last 3 people to get on the plane but I had an aisle seat and couldn’t complain. I slept some, watched Woody Allen’s “Midnight in Paris,” slept some more… and somehow the 7 1/2 hours passed rather quickly. The 30 minutes I spent waiting at the baggage claim, however, did not pass quickly. Especially when there were no bags left and the thing stopped moving all together. I filled out a claim form with an employee, silently regretted the fact that I had packed my carry on in any other manner than practically, and eventually found my friend Simon outside to drive me back to good ol’ Hazebrouck.

I finally made it, and my suitcase should be here today – United Airlines is actually sending someone to drive it to Michel’s house!

2 thoughts on “back in franceland!

  1. nafisat September 23, 2011 / 5:09 AM

    that blasted unites airlines and their baggage issues. i had .5 overweight and they still had me move things around. i just pretended to take it out and slipped it back in there while they were checking me in. and yes chicago airport is soo freaking huge!! i got lost actually and when i found my way i was almost late and one of those men who drive around the airport in the mini golf cart looking thing drove me full speed to my gate. haha international travel. always full of suprises

  2. Ed September 23, 2011 / 9:30 AM

    Oh my goodness! I had to do the same thing at O’Hare. I actually NEEDED those moving sidewalk things. The funny thing was, the gates are arranged in a giant horseshoe pattern so I could see the plane I got off through the window of the gate for my connecting flight. Of course, there was some ceremony for veterans, complete with a band, blocking my rush through the concourse, but the ironic thing was that after everyone got on the plane, we sat there for 45 minutes waiting for the ground crew to load our luggage thanks to that same veterans’ display that had caused me to almost miss my plane!

    And I remember very well my 30 minute wait at the carousel in Charles de Gaulle. It took so long for my luggage to arrive, but at least it did! So sorry to hear about your bag! It’s even worse when you lose it when moving to a foreign country, but I’m glad to hear they will drive it to his house.

    Have fun in Franceland! And keep updating the blog :)
    Bon courage !

Leave a Reply

