so close, yet so far

I only have 4 weeks left of work as an assistant at my high school in Douai, France (and one of those weeks will be spent abroad in England with 50 students and 4 teachers). I can’t say it’s gone by fast but it hasn’t gone by slowly, either.

I still need to blog about my awesome trip to Poland that I took at the beginning of March. I spent 10 days in the country, split between hanging out in the city of Krakow and doing a language immersion program called Angloville in the tiny mountain city of Zab. The people, atmosphere, and culture were all amazing and I’m trying to figure out a way to describe it to you all! Here’s a preview…

Image

But right now, my mind is caught up with other things!

It’s official: I am trying to come back to France in August. In fact, I already have a plane ticket – it was only $50 more to buy a round trip ticket rather than a one way ticket, so I went for it. The next step – getting a visa – is proving to be difficult. I’ve reapplied to be an assistant for the next school year, but won’t find out until mid April if I have the position or not. I’ve had an interview with a company in Lille that teaches English to children which went extremely well, but at the end I was told that they didn’t want to go through the visa process for me (but, if I somehow ended up in France with a visa in the fall, I was more than welcome to give them a call and they’d be happy to hire me…!). I’ve also started an application for a Masters program in teaching modern languages at the university in Lille, but I found out about it too late and the deadline is on Friday; it’s very unlikely that I’ll be able to have all my documents turned in on time.

I feel like I have so many options, but all of them are just one little/huge step away from being successful. At the same time, I’m trying not to stress to much about it so that I can actually enjoy my last 4 weeks of teaching, 7 weeks of opportunities to travel, 7 weeks with my friends, 7 weeks in France. I’ve gotten 2 visas before – haven’t they always said that the third time is a charm?

One thought on “so close, yet so far

  1. Cyndi March 31, 2012 / 12:40 PM

    You are the charm. Pray hard. God works harder. Love you. It’s all good and will turn out for the right.

Leave a Reply

