pause

Next weekend is the start of one crazy week!

After nearly 3 months in France, I decided that the best option for me at the moment is to go home, work as much as possible, save as much as possible, and come back to France sometime after March. The job hunt here was frustrating but I feel like I did my best. I’m definitely considering doing my masters in Lille next year (studying modern languages), and with a student visa, I’d have the right to work 20 hours/week anywhere I’d like (or anywhere I can get hired). The main problem this time around with interviews was never the conversation, but the fact that I didn’t have valid working papers. As a student, I’d have already jumped through that hoop, so hopefully it would be much easier to support myself.

With that being said, the boy and I wanted to do something super fun for our last week together. To celebrate his birthday, we are heading to LONDON for 4 days starting next Saturday. The last time I was there was in 2006 with my high school, so I can’t wait to revisit it!

We’ll get back on Tuesday afternoon, and… my plane back to Texas leaves on Wednesday morning from Brussels.

Thursday, I’ll be home: unpacking, going to a job interview, getting my haircut, and repacking…

… to leave on Friday to go to my cousin’s wedding up north. I can’t wait to go and see all of my family that I miss so much!

Then we’ll fly back home on Sunday, where I will most likely collapse and sleep for 3 days.

I can’t believe how fast this 3 months has gone by. I guess it was hard to realize it until I had an exact departure date. Maybe things didn’t work out as I was hoping for, but I know that I’m going to keep trying!

5 thoughts on “pause

  1. Peggy Tee October 19, 2012 / 4:33 AM

    Good luck Haley and don’t give up! If you can dream it, you can do it. I have a (pipe)dream of one day moving to Argentina… even if my Spanish is pretty basic, and I have *no* idea what kind of work I’d be able to do there! Dream big, focus on what you want, and the details will resolve themselves eventually.

    • haleyinfrance October 19, 2012 / 9:20 AM

      Thanks for the encouraging words, Peggy Tee! Like one of my new favorite quotes… “Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase.” (MLK Jr)

  2. Mom October 19, 2012 / 10:50 AM

    Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him and He will set your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5,6

  3. Amber October 21, 2012 / 4:05 PM

    Good luck, Haley! Hope you’ll be back to blogging about your life in France in no time! :)

  4. Kelcie November 4, 2012 / 10:08 AM

    Haley, I found your blog through a google search for TAPIF-related materials. I am now starting the application process and would love to talk more with you about it once your life settles back down! My e-mail is kelcie.lewis@gmail.com Cheers!!

Leave a Reply

