back from outer space

It has been nearly three years since I’ve published a post here. I have reasons, I promise! I went home for a year, I came back in 2013 and studied like a crazy person at Lille 3 to take the national concours to become an English teacher in France (spoiler alert – I passed!). In 2014, I started the second year of my Masters degree while teaching part time at a high school in Lille. As of last Friday, I have officially finished my first year of teaching and can say that I am a professeur titularisée, which basically means I have the right to a job for life teaching middle school or high school English in France. Not too shabby!

The past two years, I have been living in the Wazemmes neighborhood of Lille, France in a cozy apartment with my boyfriend – or should I say pacsé? – and our fluffy rabbit. In only nine days, we’ll be starting a new adventure in Cassel, France. This small town of 2,300 people will be a welcomed change compared to our very lively neighborhood known for things like its giant market and the annual accordion and soup festivals. We’ll have a real backyard, two bedrooms, and a normal sized kitchen. We’ll also have to take the train to get to work, but it’s worth the compromise!

As I’ll have the whole summer off – yes, teachers can still brag about this – I’ll be writing about some of the more interesting things that have happened in the past two years, which include but are not limited to:

  • our fabulous neighbors in Wazemmes (just search “cheval blanc wazemmes” in Google images to get a preview)
  • anecdotes from my first year of teaching French high school students
  • transitioning from life in Lille to life in Cassel

Thanks for reading!

6 thoughts on “back from outer space

  1. Cindy Dermody June 16, 2015 / 7:12 PM

    Haley, I enjoyed reading your newest post on your blog. Congrats on finishing your master’s degree. Hope the move goes smoothly. Aunt Cindy

  2. Jennifer Kozak June 24, 2015 / 5:19 AM

    Welcome to Cassel, Haley! I am an American who has lived here for the past 3 years with my French husband. Feel free to contact me if you would like to meet up one day this summer. Good luck with your move! – Jennifer

    • haleyinfrance July 27, 2015 / 8:53 AM

      Hi, Jennifer! Wow, I didn’t think I would find another American in Cassel. Would love to meet up with you sometime!

  3. Jennifer Kozak August 6, 2015 / 8:03 AM

    It is strange indeed! There are a few Brits here in Cassel also – a young woman and a newly retired couple… I hope that you are settling in well. – J

    • haleyinfrance August 7, 2015 / 1:13 AM

      That is great! If you want, you can shoot me an email at haleyderm(at)gmail(dot)com and we can find time to meet up.

Leave a Reply

